The  College of Education Akwanga which was established in September, 1976 by the Plateau State Edict No. 5 of 1978 was known and called Advanced Teachers College Akwanga (ATCA). The Edict establishing the Institution was repealed and replaced by the Nasarawa State Edit No. 16 of 1996 which came into effect on 1st October 1996.

The Advanced Teachers, College started at a temporary site in Jos with a Campus in Akwanga. The Institution finally moved from Jos to its Permanent site in Akwanga on 1st September, 1985.

The Advanced Teachers College then, was established to address the gross inadequacy of Teachers in the Primary and Secondary Schools in the then Plateau State, which the present day Nasarawa State was part and parcel of.